Automotive mechanics are not required to possess any certifications if they want to work in an auto body or repair shop. Yet, automotive mechanics who want to become successful auto technicians should pursue any certifications available, so they are well-equipped to differentiate themselves from other candidates for the top jobs.  

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) provides the standard credential for automotive service technicians. For those who want to become certified automotive technicians, they must pass the ASE test.  

ASE offers auto mechanic certifications across eight specializations: 

1. Engine Repair

This certification verifies that automotive mechanics know how to diagnose and correct engine issues. It also confirms that these mechanics can perform engine repairs before they cause long-lasting vehicle damage.  

2. Engine Performance

This certification ensures auto mechanics can assess a car’s engine and detect issues that hamper a car’s performance or prevent a vehicle from running. It verifies that these mechanics understand the impact of temperature, humidity, and other factors that can affect engine performance.  

3. Automatic Transmission/Transaxle

This certification confirms that auto mechanics understand how an automatic transmission works and what they can do to fix transmission issues.  

4. Brakes

This certification verifies that auto mechanics understand the different types of car brake systems, how they work, and their associated components.  

5. Electrical/Electronic Systems

This certification confirms that auto mechanics can quickly identify a bad alternator, defective battery cables, or other electrical or electronic system issues that impact a car’s performance.  

6. Heating and Air-Conditioning

This certification verifies that auto mechanics can find out why a car’s heating and air-conditioning system may be malfunctioning. It also ensures that these mechanics can keep a car’s heating and air-conditioning system running at peak levels year-round.  

7. Manual Drive Train and Axles

This certification ensures that auto mechanics understand the intricacies of a manual car transmission, so they can alleviate any drive train and axle problems.   

8. Suspension and Steering

This certification confirms that auto mechanics understand the suspension components used to help keep a car safely on the road. Additionally, the certification ensures that these mechanics can diagnose and correct any issues that disrupt a driver’s ability to properly steer a car.  

You can complete an ASE test at any time, and it includes 40 to 75 multiple-choice questions. The test focuses on different automotive service areas, and practice tests are available to help you prepare for the examination.  

If you pass the ASE test, you can become an ASE-certified automotive technician. Your ASE certification will remain valid for five years; following this period, you will need to reapply for certification and take another test.  

Want to Become a Certified Automotive Technician? HCR Can Help 

At HCR, we want to help you pursue a career as a certified automotive technician. We can offer tips and recommendations, so you can earn ASE certification in different specialty areas. Also, we can connect you with some of the top automotive industry employers in the Greater Toronto Area and Southwestern Ontario. To learn more, please contact us today 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *